Election results 2015

East Fremantle
FOUR councillors were elected unchallenged in tiny East Fremantle last weekend. Cliff Collinson (Plympton), Andrew McPhail and Dean Nardi (Richmond), and Andrew White (Woodside) were all re-elected or elected without opposition. Lukas Nicholson was elected to Preston Point ward with 131 votes, defeating Julie Amor by two votes, and trouncing former chamber of commerce chief Tim Milsom, who mustered 74 votes. Mayor Jim O’Neill put a positive slant on the lack of competition: “I think people are reasonably satisfied with the job council is doing and happy that we weren’t forced into amalgamations,” he says. “So, yeah, it could be down to people being contented with their lot in East Freo.” Cr Michael McPhail was elected deputy mayor.

RUSSELL AUBREY was re-elected Melville mayor for a third term, seeing off three challengers including former mayor Katy Mair. Mr Aubrey secured 34.74 per cent of the vote, with Ms Mair the runner up. Bringing up the rear were Susanna Taylor-Rees and Nicole Foxton. Also re-elected were Crs Duncan Macphail (City) and Nick Pazolli (Applecross-Mt Pleasant). Elected were Matthew Woodall (Bull Creek-Leeming), Lisa O’Malley (Palmyra-Melville-Willagee), Tim Barling (University) and Guy Wieland (Bicton-Attadale). The following Monday, Cr Cameron Schuster was elected deputy mayor.

CAROL Reeve-Fowkes was re-elected as Cockburn deputy mayor Monday night.
IN Cockburn, Stephen Pratt (Central) was emphatically re-elected with 2607 votes, seeing off three challengers. His nearest rival was Tony Romano, with 1049 votes. Newbie Chamonix Terblanche and Steve Portelli were comfortably elected and re-elected to East Ward, and Cr Carol Reeve-Fowkes was re-elected with a whopping 3404 votes in West Ward, demolishing challenger Adin Lang (1532).  “I look forward to the input of the councillors during what is bound to be a busy four year period as the city continues to grow and develop at a rapid pace,” said mayor Logan Howlett.


Leave a Reply