Hungerford entries open

ENTRIES for the City of Fremantle Hungerford Award have opened again.

The award, open to all unpublished writers residing in WA, began 31 years ago with New Edition Bookshop and has given a bunch of locals their big break.

Past winners and shortlisters have gone on to become New York Times bestselling authors, to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award and have their works contracted to streaming network Stan for a television series.

The Hungerford delivers $15,000 to the winning author.

The winner will be announced in October.

This year’s judging panel is Hungerford winner Natasha Lester, Rashida Murphy, Richard Rossiter and Fremantle Press publisher Georgia Richter.

Entries at fremantlepress., closing midnight Sunday March 20.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s